Frequently asked questions

What are the qualifying conditions for Maine medical cannabis?


Under the Maine Medical Marijuana law, there are no qualifying conditions for eligibility.




Will I get high? I don't want to feel "stoned."


All about the ratio! If CBD is equal to or greater than THC you won't get high. Many strains are grown especially for the high CBD ratio. For example, Charlott's Web developed just for childhood seizure therapy.
With cannabis therapy, it is common to build a tolerance over time. Some patients who do not initially tolerate the psychoactive effects of cannabis discover that they eventually enjoy and benefit from these side effects.

There are no hard and fast rules or guidelines to cannabis strains and dosage. Everyone's endocannabinoid system (ECS) is unique - what works well for one may not for another.

Keep an open mind and be willing to experiment with cannabis. Remember, no one ever died of a cannabis overdose. If you feel uncomfortable or disoriented after using cannabis, it helps to drink lots of water, take 10mg of CBD, or to inhale the aroma of black pepper.




Why should I get my patient card?


  • Access to clean and reliable cannabis. Grown without pesticides, chemicals or toxins.
  • Medicinal cannabis growers will have thier product lab tested for quality.
  • Work with your caregiver who will listen and respond to your medical needs.
  • Grow 6 mature medical and 3 mature recreational plants at home.
  • Many cannabis strains do not get you high and can be used during the day.
  • Delivery methods include salve, tinctures, capsules and vapes dosed for treatment.
  • Adult use cannabis is typically high in THC which may cause anxiety for some patients.
  • Currently, only medical cannabis can be sold and purchased in Maine.
  • Adult use cannabis will collect hefty taxes for state and municipal revenue and sold only in mucinicipalities that Opt-In for business.
  • And, many people who think they are just using cannabis "recreationally" are actually enjoying myriad health benefits they may not be aware of!




What is the process for getting my patient card at Budding Potentials?


Every patient must be evaluated to establish with Budding Potentials. First, decide which type of appointment you need: in-person at one of our clinics, a home visit, or an online telemedicine appointment. Second, call or email to book an appointment at one of the locations we see patients throughout the state of Maine.

Payment is due at the time of service. Telemedicine is paid prior to appointment. When in doubt, bring everything you have to your appointment. Telemedicine requires medical records.

Cannabis Certificate is issued at time of appointment except for telemedicine.
Annual renewals will be just $50. (see How Can I Renew above)




How long is my card good for?


Your card is valid for a full 12 months.




Can my card be taken away?


There may be some instances where your card could be revoked for illegal activity, though we've never heard of that happening with Budding Potentials patients. It is your responsibility to know and abide by the rules of the MMMP and the laws of the State of Maine.




Can I share my card with others?


No. You must present your Maine photo ID with your patient card anytime you use it.




How much is a replacement card if mine is lost or damaged?


Budding Potentials provides one replacement card per year for FREE and it is mailed First Class USPS. If the replacement card is lost in the mail and address has been verified the replacement is sent by Priority Mail with tracking number. The fee for this is $20 and can be paid by credit/debit card. It may be a good idea to laminate the signed card for protection.




Can I use my patient card in other states?


Reciprocity allows patients in one state to have or purchase medicine in another Medical Cannabis state. Often it means you can use your medicine in that state but may not purchase or sell medicine while visiting. Check with your destination state HHS department for their rules. Once established with Budding Potentials we will help with any forms you may need. Please remember that it is federally illegal to fly with cannabis and crossing some states is at your own risk. Be smart and be judicious in use.




How private is this? Is my info shared with the government or any state or private agencies or organizations?


  • Dr. Mary is a medical doctor and abides by HIPAA law concerning your privacy.
  • We will NOT discuss you in ANY way with ANYONE unless you give the OK.
  • Maine DHHS keeps record of Date of Birth and Zip code for demographics.




Once I get my patient card, where do I get my medicine?


Maine caregivers are among the best in the U.S.. They may have delivery options for you. You can visit a caregiver-owned store front, or grow your own cannabis!

Email us and ask for other resources we may have available.




How much cannabis am I allowed to have and grow?


Your medical cannabis card allows you to: - carry 2.5 ounces on your person - transport seedlings to your own grow space - have 8 pounds in various stages of processing/curing - have 6 mature plants (sex is discernible) - 12 plants in vegetative growth - unlimited seedlings that are smaller than 12 inches tall in smaller than 12-inch containers.




Can I grow inside and outside?


Yes. As long as your total plant count remains at or under your legal limit, you can grow inside and outside.
Indoor grow areas must be locked with patient certificate copy on door, and plants tagged with patinet identifier.
Outdoor grow areas must be specifically fenced, not visible from the road and locked, with your certificate visibly posted and plants tagged with your patient identifier info on them.

A patient identifier could be your initials, DOB, or your driver's license number.




What if my symptoms change or I need more medical advice?


Rather than schedule another appointment to see Dr. Mary, it might be wise to schedule a quick phone consultation that will help clear up any confusion or answer any questions that come up.

You can schedule a 10 minute Consult with Dr. Mary that often helps get to the bottom of any issues that may arise.

If you feel it's a more pressing issue, you are of course welcome to schedule a full appointment to see Dr. Mary.

Of course, if you feel you are having a medical emergency you should immediately contact your primary care physician or call 911 for immediate medical attention.




How much does it cost?


$95 --Telemedicine is paid by credit/debit card. $95-$125 --Clinics, events and groups of 5 or more qualifying patients. $250 --Groups of 2-4 qualifying patients. $300 --Individual at Home Visit. $50 -- Annual renewal. Mail in check or money order made out to Budding Potentials. $60. -- More than a year expired can renew for $60. Same Day Processing either in-person or using credit card over phone has $5 service fee.




Guns and Cannabis? Yes, it is okay to have both.


  • Maine does NOT have shared databases between agencies. There is no cross reference between state or federal agencies so no one knows unless you tell them!
  • Guns: if purchasing from a federally licensed dealer there is a disqualifying question concerning use of marijuana:
    • Question 11e: Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to, marijuana or any depressant, stimulant, narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance?Warning: The use or possession of marijuana remains unlawful under Federal law regardless of whether it has been legalized or decriminalized for medicinal or recreational purposes in the state where you reside.
    • Private party gun purchases do not require this form for sale and transaction.
  • Keep your medicine and gun separate from each other at all times.




How can I renew if I am a current Budding Potentials patient?


So easy and only $50* for the entire year! Send check or money order made out to: Budding Potentials
PO Box 313, Howland, ME. 04448. Be sure your name and current mailing address are included. Or, quicker renewal with Same Day Processing and credit/debit card charge: Call Laura at (207) 806-9135. There is a $5 fee for Same Day Processing service. All renewals are mailed USPS First Class mail. If you prefer Priority Mail it is only $10 and includes a tracking number. * $60 if more than 12 months expired.